Sunday, January 09, 2011

'Social Network' is US Critics' Favourite FIlm

JAN 9, 2011 - America's National Society of Film Critics proclaimed The Social Network as the Best Film of 2010, named David Fincher as Best Director and Jesse Eisenberg as Best Actor. The acclaimed drama about the founding of Facebook also won the Best Screenplay award for Aaron Sorkin.

The critics' organisation, which celebrated its 45th year of annually honouring the best in cinema, has among its members Roger Ebert of the Chicago Sun-Times, Time's Richard Schickel, and Globe movie critics Ty Burr and Wesley Morris. Critics' awards are important in helping build momentum heading toward the Academy Awards, or Oscars, to be given out on the final Sunday in February by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

HERE's the list of the winners of the main categories:

* Best Film: The Social Network

* Best Director: David Fincher (Social Network)

* Best Actor: Jesse Eisenberg – (Social Network)

* Best Actress: Giovanna Mezzogiorno (Vincere)

* Best Supporting Actor: Geoffrey Rush – (The King's Speech)

* Best Supporting Actress: Olivia Williams (The Ghost Writer)

* Best Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin (Social Network)

* Best Cinematography: Roger Deakins (True Grit)

* Best Foreign Language Film: Carlos

* Best Film - Non-Fiction: Inside Job


Post a Comment

<< Home